border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Python Forums > Morelia Spilota

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 06-05-12, 10:03 AM   #1
forkedtongue

Input from Northern US & Canadian owners please

About 3 months ago I moved from Southern Texas back to my home state of Michigan....which regrettably I parted with my carpet collection before I made the jump

I'm looking into getting a few carpets again once money stabilizes, my question for you northerners is...

With colder year round weather, are there any special needs for keeping carpets happy and willing to breed? What kind of lighting do you use / heat strips?

I'm hoping to invest some money into breeding snakes now that I'm retired but I want to be fully prepared before I do it.

Thanks

Blake
Login to remove ads
Old 06-05-12, 04:27 PM   #2
Cam

Re: Input from Northern US & Canadian owners please

I'm pretty new to snakes (and carpets) but I'm not sure why you'd have any issue if you're keeping the animals indoors. The only thing different up north is the variation in daylight hours over the course of the year.

My carpet viv is heated with flexwatt, I keep it at 90F in the warm end and 80-85 ambient.
Old 06-05-12, 04:54 PM   #3
Freebody
Veteran Member

im sure the only difference, would be the size of our hydro bills. other than that they both will be kept at said snakes required living conditions, It may need a little energy to substain temps in some places in canada, compared to the warmer areas like in the states, and thats only if your heating a whole room dedicated to my snakes, instead of just a few cages individually controled which would remain the same because the cages will be inside anyways.
Old 06-05-12, 05:43 PM   #4
exwizard
Lord of the Dums

I agree. If youre keeping the snakes inside, there shouldnt be an issue because you control what temp and humidity level each snake gets in your setups. Ok the winter time the heat bill will go up but thats to be expected.