border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > General Information Forums > Breeding / Incubation

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 01-13-18, 10:33 AM   #1
kazz

enclosure for eggs

Hi.
I know everyone use for eggs vermiculite or perlite. But this very experienced man use water .

That is much more convenient than vermiculite or perlite.
So is it ok to use water ?
Old 01-13-18, 02:20 PM   #2
DJC Reptiles

Re: enclosure for eggs

Hi Kazz,

I like Viper keepers content, but I am still saying it's better to use vermiculite. I have seen this video before, and it is a little outdated. Coastal taipans need high humidity to hatch and I think that's why he used water. I am not too experienced with breeding, so you may want to hear what others have to say.
“The Only Difference Between Fear and Respect is Knowledge”(Daniel Jensen).
Old 01-13-18, 08:12 PM   #3
TRD

kazz, reading through your other posts I think you should first get like 2-3 years experience in actually keeping your snakes before you even venture in breeding anything, especially species with which the market is already flooded.

Just some friendly advise.
Old 01-13-18, 09:33 PM   #4
DJC Reptiles

I don't think he is actually breeding any snakes. I believe (correct me if I'm wrong), your just asking a question.
“The Only Difference Between Fear and Respect is Knowledge”(Daniel Jensen).
Old 01-14-18, 01:06 AM   #5
jjhill001

Quote:
Originally Posted by kazz View Post
Hi.
I know everyone use for eggs vermiculite or perlite. But this very experienced man use water .

That is much more convenient than vermiculite or perlite.
So is it ok to use water ?
I couldn't view the video you posted but went on youtube and found him incubating eggs.

The main reason the majority of people use vermiculite and perlite is because there are specific recipes IE 1 ounce of vermiculite to 1 ounce of water. That if used with recommended temps will maintain the proper humidity level for the duration of incubation.