border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Lizard Forums > General Lizard Forum.

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 07-17-15, 06:46 PM   #1
DDW

Sister's Iguana

My older sister got a new green iguana and it is getting sick. I wanted to ask if they need the same time to settle in as a snake and other lizards do? Because... she has been handling it every day... and it has reduced it's eating habits. It has lost a good bit of weight and am worried that it is either majorly stressed or... eating roaches... which I know they are not supposed to have animal protein... my sister says the husbandry is fine too. Opinions? It has also recently began shedding, would this have anything to do with it? Also, it looks really small for its claimed age.
Login to remove ads
Old 07-17-15, 07:05 PM   #2
Minkness
Forum Moderator

Send a message via Skype™ to Minkness
Re: Sister's Iguana

If they aren't supposed to have animal protine why is it eating roaches?

I'm no iggy expert, but I believe ALL reptiles should be given time to settle before being handled. Even my docile geckos get a week or two where all I do is feed, water, and spot clean.

May be stressed and on an incorrect diet that is aiding in his decline.

I stopped counting at 30....
Old 07-17-15, 07:17 PM   #3
DDW

I felt the same way about the settle time:/

Not feeder roaches... small ones may or may not be getting into the enclosure through the top screen.
Old 07-17-15, 07:20 PM   #4
wrecker45

Romaine lettus, kale, banana, watermelon, grapes, and a pinky mouse once every two weeks for a treat.
1.Corn snake. 1.Mexican milk snake. 2.California king snakes. 2. Western hognose snakes. 1. Pastel checker garter. 1. Checker garter. 1.Columbian red tail boa. 1. Ball python. 1. Smooth green snake. 1. Five lined skink. 1. Grey tree frog. 1. Chinese water dragon. 3 Bearded Dragons. 2 Leapard Geckos. 1. Black cat. and Lucy my border collie/lab.
Old 07-17-15, 07:21 PM   #5
Albert Clark