Notices

Closed Thread

Old 07-05-14, 05:45 AM   #1
Will0W783
The Original Urban Legend

Send a message via AIM to Will0W783
Unhappy Help!!! Snake tattoo gone wrong

So,

I love tattoos, but I'm very particular about where I'll have them on myself and the precision of them. I have been debating getting a second tattoo for about 2 years now, and finally settled on a concept- a brain with snakes integrated into the folds of the cortex (as if the brain was made of snakes). I wanted to go to my good friend's artist, because he loves and keeps snakes, and I've seen his work on multiple people and it was stellar. I went with her to the shop, met him, pitched my idea and all seemed good.

Then he was really slow working up the design and I asked for a number of changes. We got it worked out to where I loved the sketch- a big viper busting out of the top, and simpler snakes within the brain, with tails coming down to form the brainstem. I had my fiance finalize stencil placement and size, since it's on my shoulder blade and I couldn't see behind me that well.

The first sitting was to be outline and scales on the viper. Second sitting was to be shading and detail. Well, the actual tattoo is time and a half the size of the stencil that went onto me, there are twice the number of small snake heads and half are misshapen. He colored in the eyes on the small snakes solid black (they weren't in the sketch) and put scales on them. The big viper up top looks good, but his eye blends too well with the scales and the heat pit is dark black so the eye is drawn there. It's still healing, but I'm freaking out because it's not right. I'm hoping another artist can fix it, but I'm not a tattoo expert so I don't know. I certainly don't think I can trust this guy to finish it.
I'm furious because I've seen such amazing work on my friends and it's like he just half-assed this on me!!

Attached are photos of the night it was done (last Friday) and one taken Wednesday night.