border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > General Information Forums > Food For Thought Forum

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 04-19-17, 03:52 PM   #1
Ssnakess :)

Question Calcium

Hi,
I'm new to Ssnakess and I have a quick question!

So, I just got my first garter snake and he's on a worm diet because he's not big enough to eat pinkies yet. I was wondering if it would be alright to crush up organic egg shell and feed a worm with a dusting of it? Would that be alright?
Login to remove ads
Old 05-25-17, 09:25 PM   #2
StarFall

Re: Calcium

edit- it I know people do this with leopard geckos and turtles and such, so it should be ok for a garter. Just be careful not to put too much on the worm, I've heard doing that could kill it.
edit- it could kill the worm not the snake. i should have specified lol

Last edited by StarFall; 05-25-17 at 09:43 PM..
Old 05-25-17, 10:24 PM   #3
Tiny Boidae

I'd venture to say that you might not need to excessively dust the worms. Worms already have a decent calcium: phosphorus ratio and are very high in protein content while low in fat. I'd do a light calcium dusting once every two-three feedings, and maybe a vitamin dusting with Beta Carotene less often.
Old 05-26-17, 12:58 AM   #4
Scubadiver59

BTW...welcome to sSNAKESs!!
Old 05-26-17, 11:37 AM   #5
chairman

Something else to keep in mind, calcium powder changes stomach chemistry (think calcium-based antacids). You don't want to constantly dose your animal with substances that interfere with digestion. That's a reason why gut loading is generally advised. There are quite a few calcium rich vegetables that can be fed to worms.
Login to remove ads
Old 05-28-17, 05:04 PM   #6

Sorry, I meant like would it be okay on feeding day to dip one of the worms in calcium powder right before i feed it to my garter? I wasn't meaning to dip the worm and then put it back in the worm farm container.