border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Lizard Forums > Varanid

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 03-07-08, 11:11 PM   #1
wil_son

Some questions needs to be answered asap....helP!

Hi all I am new to this forum and I am a big fan of large size reptiles in Vancouver. As my milk snake escaped and gone for 2 months. I have decided to get a medium size lizard and I have made my mind on either a Savannah Monitor or a Argentini Black and White Tegu. However, this is my first time keeping lizard at this size so I have a few beginner's questions to ask and hopefully you guys can answer them. First, is there anywhere that I can get a reasonably cheap price in Vancouver? Second, can anyone teach me how to build a box with a side open glass door? Like what kinds of material will i need and how much money do i need to build that? I really hope someone can answer my questions cuz i know they sounds kinda stupid...lol....

thanks
Login to remove ads
Old 03-10-08, 10:02 AM   #2
kriminaal

Re: Some questions needs to be answered asap....helP!

Looking into a Sav monitor I wouldn't exactly call it a medium sized lizard. I guess if you compare it to a Perentie or Komodo.
For a medium sized monitor I would look at the Peachthroat. You won't find them as cheap as a t-shirt though like the Savannah.
Keep in mind a full-grown Sav needs a very large enclosure like 10 ft long.
Old 03-10-08, 12:34 PM   #3
twiztidjuggalo

get a nile monitor
Old 03-11-08, 01:05 AM   #4
crocdoc

Send a message via AIM to crocdoc

for a first time biggish lizard, I wouldn't recommend a savannah, peachthroat or Nile. Your original idea of an Argentine black and white tegu is the best one. They're captive bred, they're omnivorous and they become relatively calm adults.
Old 03-11-08, 08:36 PM   #5
cedwards