border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > General Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 06-07-16, 09:18 PM   #1
gp724

What snake is best for me?

I am brand new to snakes, but I have always had a huge interest in snakes, and lately I have been doing a lot of research on them. I recently got the chance to interact with a bull snake, and I fell in love with her. I love her size, her energy level, everything about her. Sadly, they seem to be very rarely available where I live. I do like colubrids, and possibly pythons. Is there a snake that fits the below requirements:

6-7ish foot range
Somewhat active(moves around the cage a bit, but is handleable)
Doesn't need super high humidity or temperature ranges(I can for sure supply heat mats under the cage, and I can mist the cage daily if needed)
Is a pretty good eater
Not likely to bite or musk
Is about the same girth as a bull snake (thicker than a corn snake, but thinner than a bull snake)
Typically has a reasonable upfront cost(around $100-$150ish)
Would a carpet python fit most of these requirements? I haven't done a ton of research on them, but they seem to fit most of the requirements.
Login to remove ads
Old 06-09-16, 10:36 AM   #2
Andy_G
Forum Moderator

Re: What snake is best for me?

If it's a bullsnake you want, then keep looking until you find one. They're certainly around but not extremely easy to find. Where are you located in Canada?

Carpet pythons need higher heat and humidity, but nothing too crazy and they would be a great alternative. Research them and handle a few adults to see if they are a good fir for you.
Old 06-09-16, 11:46 AM   #3
albertagirl