border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > General Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 02-10-17, 02:11 PM   #1
rill90

Question Help deciding on my first large snake

So I am currently in my last year of college and I want to get a snake when I move out (parents aren't fond of reptiles), but I am having troubles deciding which one to get so please help me make a decision. I am wanting a snake that has a "generally good disposition". And something different from ball pythons and corn snakes and such. The three I am thinking about right now are a woma python, dumerils boa, or a boa constrictor. I am open to other suggestions as well. I have kept snakes before making this decision so please try not to yell at me lol.
Login to remove ads
Old 02-10-17, 05:39 PM   #2
Cyclops

Re: Help deciding on my first large snake

I have always liked womas. cause they can be handled and you won't go broke.
Old 02-10-17, 06:06 PM   #3
rill90

Do they generally have a good disposition? I have heard they can be a bit food aggressive but I mean I would be too if I were a snake.
Old 02-10-17, 06:54 PM   #4
Cyclops

Yeah, that is why you normally feed them with tongs. long tongs. lol
Old 02-10-17, 06:55 PM   #5
Cyclops

But they are supposed to be accept handling.
Login to remove ads
Old 02-10-17, 10:16 PM   #6
regi375

I was in the same position as you a while ago. That's when the pet store I went to had Spotted Pythons. From what I read, they generally tolerate handling pretty well. Mine does well with handling, and I've had him for about 3 weeks now. As long as he's handled properly he won't bite. His care is fairly easy, I just use Eco earth as substrate keeping half the enclosure moist and mist once a day to maintain a decent humidity. He really likes yo climb as well, so you can get really creative with their enclosure. Just throwing another option out there for ya
Old 02-10-17, 10:45 PM   #7
EL Ziggy
Forum Moderator