border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > New to the forum?

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-11-16, 03:50 PM   #1
Zulu3

Exclamation New to everything...

Hello everyone,

I am new to the forum and I am also new to being a ball python owner. His name is Zulu, but to be honest I don't even know if he's a boy or a girl. He's about 3ft and he's very sweet.

I really don't know much about posting in forums and even less about snakes. I'm already very attached to him and all I want to do is give him the best living conditions I can.

Zulu comes from a frat house with a lot of partying and handling... where he was fed once every month with two live mice. His heat lamp is actually just a light bulb close to his tank. It smells dirty and he is very cold to the touch. I've only had him a couple days and since last night he has been very active and looks like he's trying to get out..

I really have no idea what I'm doing.. But I want to give him a better home where he wont be stressed out. If anyone can give me information on how to look after a ball python I would really appreciate it.

He seems very thin (for a snake I guess?...) because I can feel his spine. I'm from a small town and called around to see about any vets, but no one had much experience... I want to focus on making him comfortable and I'd love to know what I need.

Thanks!
Login to remove ads
Old 09-11-16, 10:04 PM   #2
Minkness
Forum Moderator

Send a message via Skype™ to Minkness
Re: New to everything...

Welcome to the forum!

It's nice of you to take this guy in. He's probably fine, if a bit neglected from the sounds of it.

Thoroughly clean his enclosure. You can use reptile safe cleaners from the pet store, or, just a water and vinegar mix (it's what I use). To help with the smell you can use the enzymatic pet spray you see for sale usually for cat/dog urin. Make sure it's the enzymatic type and then rinse thoroughly.