border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > New to the forum?

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-08-17, 07:18 PM   #1
Jonodell

New to the world of snakes

Hello, first day here. I'm enjoying reading through the posts--everything is new because I'm new to the field. I'm a novelist working on my fourth book. I've chosen to deal with venomous snakes in the Southeastern US (Mississippi). One aspect is the charismatic practice of snake handling. I've done an immense amount of historical research, but there is one detail I'd like to include to advance the plot. I would like the boy who prepares the snakes for the meetings to do his best to calm them before they are grabbed by a frenzied congregation. I've heard from some that feeding the snakes helps induce lethargy but other have disagreed, saying that depriving the snakes of food would do the same. I've also heard that keeping the snakes cool will help, and also cause them to release less venom if they do bite. I have no idea if any of this is correct. Even though the book is fiction, I do want it to be accurate. Could you share your insights? Are there other methods you could suggest? Sorry to be so unknowledgeable, and thank you for your patience with me.
Login to remove ads
Old 09-11-17, 12:07 AM   #2
dannybgoode

Re: New to the world of snakes

I don't work with venomous snakes but in general snakes are very active for a period immediately after feeding - their feeding responses take time to switch off - think of it like an adrenaline rush. They then hide away and digest the meal.

A hungry snake is an active snake by and large as even the ambush predators will move in a bid to seek food. Only a snake hungry to the point of starvation may become placid but it would likely be close to death.