PDA

View Full Version : live feeding?

derek
11-09-02, 11:12 AM
I was just wondering if any of you have had any problems with feeding your snakes live mice/rats.i have heard that the usualy cause damage to the reptile. also if i was feeding live would i be able to give my bp 2 live hopper size mice instead of one rat??? thanks for your help in advance.:(

paul
11-09-02, 11:35 AM
hi derek
i'm just a beginner my self but my python whouldn't eat so i tried live mice and she took them right away both of them i was also told that the mice or rats could hurt or kill your snake so if you do go live keep a good eye on them
good luck

tai_pan1
11-09-02, 11:56 AM
About 15 years ago, I had a burmese python and I always fed him live. He ate rats, ginuea pigs, and eventually rabbits. He never had a problem, and was never injured. I have heard stories of snakes being injured by live food, so I now tend to err on the side of precaution. I feed my four corns f/t, never live. If I ever have a problem with a snake not feeding, I would probably try feeding live first. I would keep a close eye on the situation if you feed live, until the food is eaten, or you remove it from the snakes cage.

Tim_Cranwill
11-09-02, 02:36 PM
If you DO feed live, be prepared to get in there pretty quickly if something happens. It's not like the rodent would warn you before he bit your snake. I had a buddy would fed live gerbils to his ball and it all goes down so fast....

Just a word of advice.:)

Syst3m
11-10-02, 01:54 AM
There are several risk that you take a chance on feeding live.

One is injury to your snake, you would be amazed how fast a rat can take an eye out.

Also there are some pictures on Pro Exotics of someone who left a rat in with a ball python over night and the rat ate the ball python, didn't kill it but it had to be put to sleep because of the extent of the damage.