PDA

View Full Version : More Genetics

SnowSnake
10-30-02, 03:52 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to ssnakess, I hope we will get along fine! :)

I'm 15 and in sec. 4, i chose to take Sr. Biology and i like it a lot!!

Here is my question:

I learned about the punett square a few days ago and i was wondering if someone could make me a list of the corn snake genes and saying if they are Dominant, Co-Dominant or recessive.

Also, If Amelanistic and Anerythristic 'A' are recessive genes, What is the combinasion for a snow?(note: a=Anery 'A' and m=Amelanistic) I did the square and only got some aa,am,ma and mm. Can you tell me how the corn snake genetic punett square works please, I like genetics a lot! and would like to learn more about it.

ty for your help!,

SnowSnake

P.S. Sorry if genetics make your head hurt :D

Pixie
10-30-02, 04:27 PM
Hi SnowSnake :)

I can't answer you on the genetics question because it's still a big mystery to me! But, I wanted to say hello and it's nice to see you here :bounce:

Pixie

Cas
10-30-02, 04:37 PM
For a snow, starting with an anery (aaMM <--remember capital letters stand for the normal gene at that locus. The anery parent is normal at the amel locus) and an amel (AAmm) parent (P1), you end up with all snakes that are all normal looking but carrying amel and anery (so they're AaMm).
<table border="1" bgcolor="white" cellpadding="5">
<tr><td><br></td><td bgcolor="yellow">aM</td></tr>
<tr><td bgcolor="yellow">Am</td><td>AaMm</td></tr>
</table>

Breed the F1's together, (AaMm x AaMm) and the punnet's square looks like:<table border="1" bgcolor="white" cellpadding="5">
<tr><td><br></td><td bgcolor="yellow">AM</td><td bgcolor="yellow">Am</td><td bgcolor="yellow">aM</td><td bgcolor="yellow">am</td></tr>
<tr><td bgcolor="yellow">AM</td><td>AAMM</td><td>AAMm</td><td>AaMM</td><td>AaMm</td></tr>
<tr><td bgcolor="yellow">aM</td><td>aAMM</td><td>aAMm</td><td><font color="blue">aaMM</td><td><font color="blue">aaMm</td></tr>