PDA

View Full Version : Starting with hot snakes..

Kyle Walkinshaw
10-27-02, 10:26 PM
Hey, I was just curious if anyone could tell me how I could go about trying to get the permits for keeping venomous snakes. Other than catching wild Massassaugas (not keeping) in the summer I have no real experience with any hot snakes and would like to hear some suggestions of what would be a good thing to start with. I am 16 years old and I am currently keeping several colubrids and boids and have been for the past four years and as my collection is growing I am looking for something a little more challenging. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks, Kyle-

Nightflight99
10-28-02, 10:14 PM
http://www.venomousreptiles.org/libraries/download/1373/mini-savannah000.jpg

Hi Kyle,
it is great to learn of your interest in venomous reptiles. As you know, the keeping of venomous snakes is a very unique and elite sector of herpetoculture, and demands a great amount of knowledge, experience, discipline, and - most of all - common sense to succeed in. You must also be fully aware of the fact that even though you may reduce the risk of ever being envenomated to a minimum by using adequate tools and handling methods, you will never be able to eliminate it entirely, and accept a basic risk by working with these animals.

There are many different opinions on how you should get started with venomous snakes, and mine is certainly not worth more than anyone else's. However, most experienced venomous keepers will agree that a slow, step-by-step approach is the one that will lead you to achieve your goal in a relatively safe and responsible manner.