PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions.

nighter628
10-01-02, 10:20 PM
Hi guys, I am about to get my first ball and I first heard on here of people using rubbermaid's to house thier snakes and I was wondering why some perfer them over tanks? I was also wondering whats some of the benifits of feeding prekilled frozen mice over live?

There is man with a cart at a local mall selling Captive Bred Ball's with a 10 gallon tank, overhead heating light, Artifical Turf for the bottom of the tank and a piece of driftwood for $105, and I thought that was a great deal, even though im considering using the Calcium-sand for the bottom.

Anyway. all the help is appreciated cause im new at this.

Thanks Alot.

Big Mike
10-02-02, 08:37 AM
A cart at the mall...sounds fishy to me. Find out more about him before you buy a snake from him...he may be passing off WC for CBB and/or they may not be in good health.

Rubbermaids are good because they keep a higher humidity and because they are not as clear (see through) as glass, the snake doesn't see everything around it and may feel more secure.

Calcium sand is not the best substrate for a ball, especially a young one. Snakes don't need extra calcium and loose sand-like substrate may be injested while feeding...not good. Turf is acctually a good thing to use because it's easy to clean. News paper or paper towels is also very good and easy.

Make sure to find a few ball python care sheets and read them before you buy a snake.

Good luck

Linds
10-02-02, 09:14 AM
I'm agree with Mike, a cart at a mall sounds VERY fishy to me.......

Calci-Sand: Totally wrong substrate for balls. They are not desert species hence they need moderate humidity, which cannot be provided with calci-sand. Calci-sand will dehydrate your animal leading to respiratory problems and bad sheds.