PDA

View Full Version : Cage Bedding

josefg
08-16-02, 04:06 AM
i am new to snake keeping, and will be getting my first snake soon. What do you recommend me to use as bedding for the aquariam where i am to keep the snake.

Thankyou

Josefg

sSNAKESs.com
08-16-02, 04:30 AM
I would suggest paper towell... it doesnt look the best, but clean up is a breeze! :)

Linds
08-16-02, 07:20 AM
I agree with Jeff, papertowel works great for all types of environments ranging from humid to arid. You never mentioned what species you were keeping so we cannot give much input on more natural substrates.................

Syst3m
08-29-02, 03:34 AM
Substrate.. Paper towel or Printless news paper (nothing with print, ink is poison).. or if you wanna spend a little more cash and get a substrate that is excellent for almost any type of snake I have been using the Ground up coconut bark (the finely ground stuff) The Stuff is Great. It can be used completly dry or moistened and it can be used as a soil too. Yes that means plants can grow in it. VERY versitile stuff. reply to me if you want me to send you some links of the exact stuff I am using.
Its not for use in breeding really since its fairly expensive to buy in large amounts But if your just keeping 2 or 3 cages the stuff is great.

josefg
08-29-02, 03:46 AM
tnx a lot syst3m but for now i think that i'll stick to paper towels

Syst3m
08-29-02, 05:43 AM
Oh Negate my comment about ink. I guess people use black and white print safely. Paper Towel is Excellent.
Clean Sanitary and cheap !

Nicky
08-29-02, 09:32 AM
yup papaer towles u just change em once a day and poof happy clean snake

Big Mike
08-29-02, 10:19 AM
About the ink in newspaper…I read somewhere that the most common black ink is vegetable based and therefore not harmful. The color ink however is not so nice.

reverendsterlin
08-29-02, 11:35 AM