PDA

View Full Version : tips?

Neo
08-31-03, 10:10 PM
i'm a complete newb to field herping.. can u guys give me ne tips to finding cool herps? i live in nc.. the southeast side of america.. not a great herp area but there's a fair amt of high grass and woods.

my neighbor found a copperhead in his garage so i'll also need tips on places to stay away from lol

snakehunter
09-01-03, 06:26 AM
just look in/around what ever looks good, rock walls, logs, any place a herp cold hide check, tall grass around ponds is great for northern water snakes.
-Jacob

burmer
09-01-03, 12:10 PM
I don't know about where you live not being a great herp area. There should be all kinds of herps there. All the places snakehunter listed are great places to look. You'd be suprised how many you'll find. Under logs have always been my favorite to look. The last time I was out in the yard I picked up a log and found a pygmy rattler.

Bartman
09-01-03, 12:19 PM
you think there are any herps in toronto :) seriously though...you think there are anything?

icex19
09-01-03, 05:12 PM
Bartman- Sure there are! I live in the Toronto area myself, and there are plenty of places to go herping. I've seen TONS of painteds and snappers around. Go to your local marshland, creek, or any body of water or forest. I stick to turtles myself, but have found snakes too :)

Good luck man, herping is a bit weak at this time of year. I'd suggest going in may all the way through august. Good luck, Bartman. We can talk about herping around here if you want. Just pm me or add me to your msn (icex19@hotmail.com) or aim (vwres)

Happy Herping! ;)

Neo
09-01-03, 08:45 PM
ok so locations are basically nething classified as the wilderness? but what do i bring w/ me and stuff.. is there a way to tell if a snake is poisonous by looking at it? specifics plz

thx

RevMojo
09-01-03, 09:07 PM