PDA

View Full Version : Tank size

Green_Boy
06-18-03, 11:07 AM
I have an 18” BP, and put it in a 25 gal. Tank… and she uses it all.
I had been told that the tank would be way to big, but have had no problem.

I am pretty new at this, but have found that many of the ideas out there need to be tested. To many people pass on old ideas that they have never put under the gun themselves.

Don't be afraid to try your own ideas. Your snake will let you know if you are wrong!

Anyone else break with the rules and find it worked?

Big Mike
06-18-03, 12:19 PM
I don't know who told you that a 25 gal would be way too big for an 18" ball...but that does not sound like good advice to me. I feel that too big of an enclosure is almost never a concern (except when it's time for cleaning).
If the snake is given adequate hides and temps then lucky for the snake to have such a big home. Floor space is what really matters for balls and you might want to get an even bigger tank/enclosure for your snake as she reaches adult size

Good for you for doing it anyway. There is quite a lot of misinformation being given out in the herp/pet trade. It's always good to do the research yourself and get lots of opinions.

Green_Boy
06-18-03, 12:52 PM
It's that old game of the store wanting me to buy a small tank and small heating pad, and next year a larger one of each again. In about a year I intend on converting an antique sideboard into an enclosure for her. I have a 119 year old house so it will fit the decor better, plus the new enclosure will be approximately 4 feet by 3 feet by 3 feet, I am guessing that will keep her happy no matter how big she gets.

I have lots of hides for her, but after she eats she will climb up one of the gargoyles and just hang off it sunning near the heat lamp. It’s pretty cool looking actually.

tHeGiNo
06-19-03, 08:10 AM