PDA

View Full Version : babysitting

snakemann87
05-19-03, 08:47 AM
Hey, Im babysitting two large goldfish. The guy cleans the tank out every week and I told him that an algea eater would help to keep it cleaner. What would be the best algea eater for a tank with 2 goldfish.

P.S.- make it cheap I offered to buy it:)

Darlene
05-20-03, 09:09 AM
If your goldfish are larger then 1 inch body length , which I assume they are , then I have bad news. You won't get a cheap algae eater of any kind as they will eat it unless it is as big as they are. I may be able to give you more suggestions on keeping the tank cleaner but I need more info on the set-up. I've been keeping gold fish 'forever' & fancies for many years , too. I currently have gold fish in 3 of my tanks. I clean my tanks twice a year & add evaporated water in between. I'd be glad to help so post back or send me a p.m. or e-mail. Hope this helps. Dar.

snakemann87
05-20-03, 11:48 AM
Ok, thank god i didn't buy one. These goldfish are easily over 1 inch. They are probably 3-4 inches. I'd appreciate the information, well my neighbor. But im getting into this hobby too so Id appreciate it also.

Shane Tesser
05-20-03, 01:49 PM