PDA

View Full Version : life threatning?

kovu
04-18-03, 10:46 PM
I was wondering if every venomous snake bite was fatal? Does the potency of the venom increase and decrease between families or between each snake? What do some of the not as potent bites bring, and of course potent bites kill quickly right?

Sorry about my ignroance im still learning. :)

shaggybill
04-19-03, 01:41 PM
Do you mean fatal as in the end result if not treated? Not all venomous snakes will kill you if you are bitten, even if its not a dry bite. One that I am thinking of in particular is the copperhead. Now for a little old lady or man or a small child they might cause death if they get a decent dose of venom, but as far as I know, there have hardly been any deaths due to the copperheads bite.

All venomous snakes are different, and I think its safe to say that the potency of the venom would change between each snake, rather than each family. For instance, the venom of the Mojave Rattler is much more potent than that of the Pygmy. Also the amount of venom released plays a major role. I think I just read that the venom of the Massasagua rattler is about the same as the Western Diamondback, but the WDB is much more deadly because of the amount of venom it releases. I may be wrong on the exact species of snakes in those examples, but you get my point.

Everybody else here will be able to answer your question better, seeing that I am not a veteran in snakes yet, so I'll let them explain in more detail.

Nightflight99
04-19-03, 03:38 PM
I was wondering if every venomous snake bite was fatal?

No, not every venomous snakebite not fatal. As a matter of fact, the vast majority of snakebites are not fatal or even acutely life-threatening, even without proper antivenin treatment. Only a small percentage of all snakebites prove fatal.

Consider this: Out of approximately 12,000 snakebites that occur in the U.S. per year, only 8-12 are fatal.