PDA

View Full Version : BIG fat mouse

unknownclown
03-03-03, 02:36 AM
Hello again :)
ok a while ago I bought somefeeder mice andsince the snakes werent all that hungry they have become breeders. Im pretty sure that this mouse is due any day if not over due. As with snakes I am also new at breeding rodents. This mouse is huge its as fat as it is long, about the size and round as a golf ball. Is this normal? Ive gone surfing on mouse breeding sites and they say that sometimes you cant even tell if they are pregnant because they dont show much.... if this poor gal gets any bigger I think she may burst.
Im starting to kinda feel sorry for her I think I will give her a week and if there is no change I am going to put the poor thing out of her misery. although I am realy praying some of you will say that this is normal so I can quit feelin sorry for her.

Pixie
03-03-03, 08:41 AM
She's just about to pop! :) Most of my mice show lots like you describe yours. Some look like they are literally going to explode but when they are that big I know the pinkies will here in about 24-48 hours before I have pinkies. Mom will be okay :)

Pixie

Lisa
03-03-03, 10:08 AM
She will pop, this is about the point when we seperate ours from the males to avoid them from feeding on the babies... btw you may want to put her in something like a 10G tank to avoid escapees, those wire hamster cages are useless for that. (see magic mice)

unknownclown
03-03-03, 05:30 PM
:) cool thanks :)
Believe it or not I just got done buying a 10 gallon tank. I have the male and the female both in a glass tank right now. Ive heard that the males wouldnt eat the babies but I think I will go with your advice since Im tired of buying feeders ;)

Linds
03-04-03, 12:56 PM
Originally posted by Lisa