PDA

View Full Version : Crotalus lepidus

nahish2001
02-27-03, 10:04 PM
I'm a Latin student, mainly because I am trying to come to an understanding of the Latin names of animals. I noticed a little thing in the Latin name of this snake that confused me: the name of the Rock Rattlesnake is Crotalus Lepidus, with an E. Lepidus means "friendly" or "likeable". What is the temperament of this snake? Because on a vocab quiz we had, the word Lapidus came up, lepidus being with an E and lapidus with an A. Lepidus translates to "of the rock" or "stone". This makes more sense to me, becuase they generally won't describe a snake's temperament in the Latin name, it's usually about an interesting lifestlye or physical characteristic, or named after the person that described it. Tell me what you think. Did they describe it wrong? Or do I sound like I'm on crack?

BWSmith
02-27-03, 10:24 PM
C lepidus is a Rock Rattlesnake

BWSmith
03-03-03, 06:13 PM
Well, noone else replied so i guess I get a point ;)

ReptileHQ
03-03-03, 06:20 PM
That sounds like a pretty intelligent observation to me...

I have found that any time an animal is named after a person, it's latin species name ends in an i...eg. A. dumerillii, so on....

Chris

Hamster of Borg
03-06-03, 01:48 PM
Sorry for the slow reply, I just signed up... leps are one of the most laid back rattlers I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I've even hooked leps in the wild and had them not so much as rattle at me. I still don't exactly consider them friendly. :)

Ham

reptilesalonica
03-08-03, 10:28 PM