PDA

View Full Version : Asian Mangrove, where in Cad?

BoidKeeper
02-26-03, 10:16 AM
Where can a guy get a pair of Asian Mangorves here in Canada? Would they make an ok first hot? If not what would?
Thanks,
Trevor

Vanan
02-26-03, 04:18 PM
Would they make an ok first hot?

That's sure to get you some good responses.
I myself am planning on getting a mangrove and treating it with the utmost respect, i.e. the hands off rule. Treat it like a hot and think it's hot enough. You have to have the same mindset that it can kill, as you would with a rattler or cobra. Otherwise, it's not useful to use a mangrove as a starter ven.
Another suggestion would be to practise hooking and building good secure caging for it. Other than those two benefits, like I mentioned earlier, if you don't treat it like a hot, I wouldn't recommend it.

Pls note that I have NO experience with hots and this is purely my opinion. DO NOT listen to me only. There are plenty of experts who can give good advice. I merely had to post in the hope that someone may correct my thoughts if they're wrong. Or commend them if they're ok. Keeping ven's is a big debate and it's always good to throw opinions around and learn.

Matt
02-26-03, 05:08 PM
trevor,
in my opinion, mangroves are a good species to start with. They do have somewhat milder venom, but they are crazy man. They will strike all the time, so be careful.
Even though they are rear fanged, please dont underestimate them.

A friend of mine got bit by a mangrove, but the fangs didnt get him....BUT the snake took a little step up with his jaws and kindly inserted the fangs into his hand.
his symptoms were a massive headache follwed my swelling and bleeding for a number of hours....other than that he was ok!