PDA

View Full Version : Sav ate duct tape

nepoez
02-27-14, 12:37 PM
Hi all,

I was feeding my sav with an old tong that had duct tape on it. He ripped the duct tape off and swallowed it. Is this going to be a problem?

Mikoh4792
02-27-14, 12:40 PM
how much did he swallow? I'd call a vet.

nepoez
02-27-14, 12:54 PM
1 inch! of tape

philbyi-guy
02-27-14, 12:58 PM
How big is the sav? I'd have a vet check it out.

LiL Zap
02-27-14, 01:05 PM
I agree with the other members and would definitely bring him to a vet. I'm a vet tech (for dogs and cats, not reptiles :() and you would be surprised how much damage a small item ingested could do to an animal.

Pirarucu
02-27-14, 05:35 PM
Definitely go to a vet right away.

MDT
02-27-14, 06:18 PM
So...I am asking as someone who treats humans, not monitors....

You get a hunk of tape in your mouth...you chew on it for a bit, tape gets coated with saliva, you swallow and it goes down your slimy, mucus coated esophagus. There is gets mixed with your gastric acid (pH 2.0) and other digestive enzymes. Afterward, it passes in some form to your intestines and eventually out your bum mixed in with other fun stuff. No harm no foul. I have treated countless kids in the ED who have ingested all sorts of round things, square things, spikey things, and spongey things. Other than button batteries, there really isn't anything that is hugely problematic (maybe fish hooks)....as long as the object passes through the outlet of the stomach (pylorus)....