border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Boa Forums > Boa Constrictor

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-17-12, 01:55 AM   #1
promdom

New Boa Doesn't Leave Water

hi there, i'm new and this is my first thread. I picked up an 11' sunglow female boa yesterday at the CRBE in Toronto. She was in the bag for about 24 hours due too some issues getting her tank ready. I put her in today and she checked out everything and has been in her water dish for about 6 hours now. Ten months ago i had a snake do this and he ended up infesting my collection with mites. My initial mite check yesterday turned up good but i'm worried she could have picked up mites after being out of the bag at the expo as i showed a few herper friends. I'm new to boas so i'm wondering if anyone has ever had the same issue with a BCC staying in the water. She was pretty stressed out when entering the tank and seemed a bit dehydrated seeing as she spent about 10 minutes getting in a number of drinks. could dehydration or stress be the cause? just looking for some fellow boa owner opinions. Thanks.

Dan
Login to remove ads
Old 09-17-12, 02:11 AM   #2
mark24

Re: New Boa Doesn't Leave Water

I don't own boas but she could be going into shed, she could be dehydrated. How are you keeping her temps, humidity, substrate ect.
Old 09-17-12, 03:13 AM   #3
SnakeyJay
Boa Lover

My boa's soak often but not for too long... Could be dehydrated from the journey or just looking for a nice place to chill after all the stress. If the mite check went ok then double check temps n humidity, make sure there's plenty of hides and leave it to calm down for a week.

And I do believe a sunglow is a BCI, not a bcc.
Old 09-17-12, 05:11 AM   #4
Snickers

If it is a BCI, 11' is extremely big for a BCI.
Old 09-17-12, 05:26 AM   #5
Lankyrob
Non Carborundum Illegitimi

Good quarantine procedures will ensure that the rest of your collection is safe no matter what issues the new snake may have
Login to remove ads