border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Enclosure Creation Forums > General Enclosure Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-06-16, 04:30 AM   #1
Sevvy

Building a viv for an unhandy person?

Well, I seem to have been bit by the snake bug, so I fully expect to be thinking about a second snake by next summer. Unfortunately I'm a college student on a limited budget and I'm probably going to want a 6-8 foot snake, and craigslist is unreliable.

So! Who here can give tips/how-to on building a pretty and relatively lightweight budget vivarium for someone who is absolutely, positively not handy (and maybe a little afraid of saws)? I know that there are already guides out there, but I don't know what's the best. There's a good chance I'll choose a boa or python (fingers crossed that I find an automatic mister that works), so I'm hoping to build something that will hold in moisture somewhat.
Login to remove ads
Old 09-06-16, 05:57 AM   #2
dave himself

Re: Building a viv for an unhandy person?

See if once you choose whatever wood your gonna build your viv from, if you can find somewhere that will cut it to your measurements that should help you some
Old 09-06-16, 09:03 AM   #3
Sevvy

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave himself View Post
See if once you choose whatever wood your gonna build your viv from, if you can find somewhere that will cut it to your measurements that should help you some
Good point. For some reason it didn't occur to me that I could get the wood cut, even though I was already planning to have the glass cut in-shop. Can I also get it pre-drilled?

Also, is Douglas fir a safe wood for snakes?

Last edited by Sevvy; 09-06-16 at 09:14 AM.. Reason: Actually, hemp boards are ugly and I can get reclaimed Douglas fir, so there's no need...
Old 09-06-16, 10:50 AM   #4
SWDK

Both Home Depot and Lowes will cut any wood you purchase from them.