border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Community Forums > New to the forum?

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 09-03-15, 12:14 AM   #1
Trudeau7

Hello Guys! Great Forum! +Question!!

Hello everyone! My name is Robbie and I live in Arizona! The home of some of the meanest rattle snakes! Anyways I would just like to introduce myself here. I am a sophomore in highschool. I live in a small town outside Phoenix. And I have been obsessed with reptiles my whole life. I have owned countless leopard geckos in the past. Fence lizards, crested gecko, and used to have a 13 pound iguana. At the moment I have a veiled chameleon Cleo and just yesterday got a new addition!

My friend's mother has told him he needed to get rid of his slithery companion, Zeus. So I took him over! He is a very small California King Snake. He is very beautiful and very energetic which I like to see! So i only have a few questions since this is my first snake!

Down below is a picture of him and his house! Now I have been researching and tried to make do with the items I got from my friend. I am able to get more stuff if needed, but I would like your advice first! I read that snakes need a cold and a warm side. So on the right I have a paper bowl hide ( i have used these with almost all of my reptiles ) and a heating light on top. The surface on the warm side stays around 88-92 degrees. On the left or cool side, I have his water dish, a nice marble rock for hiding, and some moss from my chameleon cage. The moss was clean and i figured it gave him a cool and dark spot to hide. I did not see anything that said moss was bad, as long as it did not give off dust. His cool side stays at the low 80s. So if you guys could post your opinions/suggestions for his cage, that would be great!