border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Python Forums > Giant Python Discussion

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 02-16-17, 12:35 PM   #1
BURMS

Wrinkled Skin Over Night??

Hi all, my female albino burmese python was in shed up to yesterday, and I handled her a little bit while I changed her water. Today when I checked on her in the morning, her skin was really wrinkly and she doesn't appear to be in shed anymore- her eyes are no longer cloudy and I think she got her color back but I can't find the shed anywhere. Is this normal after a snake sheds? This is my first time with this snake shedding, any advice would help, and a response ASAP would be appreciated. I'm soaking her in water right now because of the wrinkled skin. This literally happened over night though. Should I worry??

Thanks!
Login to remove ads
Old 02-16-17, 12:39 PM   #2
Andy_G
Forum Moderator

Re: Wrinkled Skin Over Night??

Normally 12-48 hours before the shed cycle is complete the skin will become clear again and appear loose. This sounds normal. Absolutely no need to soak if your husbandry is correct and/or you have a humid hide in there.
Old 02-16-17, 12:43 PM   #3
BURMS

Thanks Andy but I can't find her shed anywhere. Has she still not shed??
Old 02-16-17, 12:46 PM   #4
Andy_G
Forum Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_G View Post
Normally 12-48 hours before the shed cycle is complete the skin will become clear again and appear loose. This sounds normal. Absolutely no need to soak if your husbandry is correct and/or you have a humid hide in there.
What I meant by the above is that although it may look like your snake has shed already, it can take a couple of days after the cloudiness clears for them to actually shed.
Old 02-16-17, 12:58 PM   #5
BURMS

oh. ok, thanks so much!
Login to remove ads
Old 02-16-17, 11:49 PM   #6
bigsnakegirl785