border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Boa Forums > General Boa Forum

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 03-30-20, 11:47 AM   #1
GFLY

Exclamation Baby Boa not eating

Hi everyone, I’m new to keeping boas. I used to have a ball python so I’m not new to snakes entirely, but I’m worried about my new baby boa... I haven’t been able to get it to eat for over a week, and I don’t know their body language as well as BPs. I also think he’s stressed, because he hasn’t moved from one spot in a few days. I have an under tank heating mat that puts out around 78-80 degrees of belly heat, and a heat UVB lamp on the other side of the enclosure. Theres lots of clutter for him to hide under and feel secure, like fake plants and moss and branches. I’m new to boas, and I’m worried I’m doing something wrong due to him not heating... any thoughts/suggestions?
Login to remove ads
Old 03-30-20, 09:20 PM   #2
EL Ziggy
Forum Moderator

Re: Baby Boa not eating

Is your heat mat controlled with a thermostat? You'll want a hot spot of 86-90 for your boa. I like ambient temps of 75-80 depending on the time of year. If he's only been with you for a week I wouldn't worry about one missed feeding. Focus on getting your temps dialed in and your snake should eat soon. My boas aren't picky eaters at all. I feed my baby boas every 7-10 days.
0.1 Albino Bull Snake (She-RA)~ 1.0 Snow Bull Snake (Apollo)~ 1.0 Coastal Carpet Python (Chomper)~ 1.0 JCP (Shredder)~ 1.0 Bredl Python (S'ven)~ 0.1 JJ x JCP (Trinity)~ 0.1 Albino Carpet Python (Akasha)~ 1.0 Olive Python (Nigel)~1.0 Scrub Python (Klauss)~ 1.0 BCI (Monty)~ 0.1 BCO (Xena)
Old 04-01-20, 02:32 PM   #3
Motleyjungle