border
sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum
 

Go Back   sSNAKESs : Reptile Forum > Python Forums > General Python Forum

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-17, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar-2017
Posts: 2
Country:
Help with substrate

Hey I bought a bag of cypress mulch to use a substrate for my jungle pythons but I noticed it said there were a lot of hazards. Is there anyway I can clean it and still use it. Or should I ditch the idea.
Lbest is offline   Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
Old 03-16-17, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Member
 
eminart's Avatar
 
Join Date: May-2014
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 935
Country:
Re: Help with substrate

What said there were a lot of hazards?

I, and lots of other people, have used cypress mulch from garden centers with no issues.
__________________
...the old ones ... knew in their bones... that death exists, that all life kills to eat, that all lives end, that energy goes on. They knew that humans are participants, not spectators. -- Stephen Bodio, On the Edge of the Wild
eminart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-17, 07:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug-2016
Location: Carl junction
Posts: 381
Country:
Re: Help with substrate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lbest View Post
Hey I bought a bag of cypress mulch to use a substrate for my jungle pythons but I noticed it said there were a lot of hazards. Is there anyway I can clean it and still use it. Or should I ditch the idea.
i wouldnt think you would have any hazzards? are you talking about mites, parasites? if so then you can bake it in the oven or leave it in your freezer over night to freeze them to death.
__________________
[0.1 normal reticulated python] [0.1 american toad] [0.1 leopard gecko] [1.0 five lined skink] [1.0 checkered garter snake] [0.0.1 gray tree frog]
[0.1 apricot pueblan milk snake] [0.1 pony] [26 hens] [5 roosters] [2.0 cattle] [2.2 geese] [0.2 dogs] [2.3 cats] [5.9 goats] [1.3 ducks] [2.6 hamsters]
jay's reptiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-17, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Mar-2017
Posts: 2
Country:
Re: Help with substrate

Yeah it says it have tiny organisms and other stuff like that and iv been boiling it for over 48 hours now.
Thanks for the help
Lbest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2002-17, Hobby Solutions Inc.

right

SEO by vBSEO 3.1.0