View Single Post
Old 11-03-03, 10:09 PM   #65 (permalink)
Way too much argueing!!!

I just wanted to add a few points of enlightenment...

I have 20 years experience with snakes, including ball pythons and I have bred that species a few times also.

I have also had the pleasure of visiting David Smith's collection more than a few times and can vouch completely for his keeping expertise!

Now, I won't name names - I simply have more class than that. There are way too many newbies typing up a lot of crap.

It is way too easy to get caught up in one of these rant threads on the internet. It's the very reason I generally stopped making posts a couple of years ago. The arguements get singled out and then everyone gangs up on a few individuals mostly because they don't understand enough to read between the lines on the internet.

In this case it seems (as usual) it's the more experienced keepers getting lamb-basted by the newer keepers! The statements made by David and Vanan regarding ball python husbandry are accurate. Most of the statements depend on the condition of the animal in question - if an adult ball python is being kept properly (and not being cycled for breeding) an appropriately sized meal every month or so is not unreasonable! You people need to learn more - I'd be listening to Scotty more if I were you! He said (to refresh your memories) "There's an awfully lot of grossly over fed captive snakes (and other herps) out there, maybe someone will learn something here."

Now, I digress. I will return to my normal absence from the internet, and let you guys get back to your senseless arguements. I just hope when all the dust settles you learn to listen to those with more experience than yourselves - that's how we all learn!

Steve Marks